Type to search


NA Committee Approves Naya Pakistan Housing and Development Authority Bill

  • 1

ISLAMABAD: The Standing Committee on Cabinet Secretariat on Thursday unanimously approved the Naya Pakistan Housing and Development Authority Bill.

Terming it a good initiative, the committee said that the passage of the bill would allow the government to channelise and consolidate housing and real estate development in the public sector, besides providing low cost housing to low income groups.

The meeting, held in the Parliament House, was chaired by member of National Assembly (MNA) Syed Amin-ul-Haque.

The committee was informed by the officials concerned that the Naya Pakistan Housing and Development Authority was established through an ordinance to support housing and real estate development in the country.

It was further told that the newly-formed authority would act as a corporation registered under the law and placed under the administrative control of the Cabinet Division. The meeting later approved the bill for passage by the National Assembly.

Further, the committee also approved the Federal Public Service Commission (FPSC) (Validation of Rules) Bill and directed the commission to amend its rules in order to facilitate educated youth seeking jobs in the public sector.

The meeting observed that candidates from less developed areas could not compete with candidates from the urban areas due to disparity in the system and standard of education.

The committee while discussing the calling attention notice regarding non-restoration/completion of schools damaged in the 2005 earthquake, directed the Finance and Economic Affairs Divisions to provide relevant details of loans procured from financial institutions and amounts pledged by donors for the rehabilitation of earthquake affected areas.

The committee also expressed its displeasure on the absence of representatives from the Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) and the Finance Division from the meeting.

The meeting was attended by Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs Ali Muhammad Khan, members of National Assembly Saleem Rehman, Ali Nawaz Awan,  Tahir Sadiq,  Khawaja Sheraz Mehmood,  Muhammad Aslam Khan,  Muhammad Hashim,  Rasheed Ahmad Khan, Ahmad Raza Maneka,  Rana Iradat Sharif Khan, Seema Mohiuddin Jameeli, Raza Rabbani Khar, along with movers of the bill/calling attention notice Amjid Ali Khan, Ali Khan Jadoon, Establishment Division secretary, Cabinet Division additional secretary, FPSC secretary and  senior officers of the departments concerned.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.

Naya Daur