Resignation Of 48 Punjab Doctors Approved By Govt Amid Covid Pandemic

Resignation Of 48 Punjab Doctors Approved By Govt Amid Covid Pandemic
Amid the fatal coronavirus outbreak, Punjab government has approved the resignation of 48 doctors who were teaching the medical students at various hospitals of Punjab.

Geo News reported that the provincial Specialised Healthcare and Medical Education (SHCME) Department issued a notification on June 27, saying those who stepped down had tendered in their resignations at various times this year. Of the 48 resigned doctors, 11 had handed in their resignation letters before February 26 – the day when Pakistan reported its first coronavirus case.

Among the doctors, 14 were from Lahore's Mayo Hospital, seven from Jinnah Hospital, six from Children Hospital, four from Teaching Hospital Dera Ghazi Khan and three from Lahore General Hospital.

Two medics each also quit at Allied Hospital Faisalabad, Sheikh Zayed Medical College (SZMC) Rahim Yar Khan, Government Nawaz Sharif Teaching Hospital Yakki Gate, and Services Hospital, Lahore.

Moreover, the resignations of one doctor each at the Civil Hospital Bahawalpur; Lady Aitchison Hospital, Lahore; Government Kot Khawaja Saeed Teaching Hospital, Lahore; Government Teaching Hospital, Shahdara; and Government Mian Munshi DHQ Teaching Hospital, Lahore were accepted.

Naya Daur Media (NDM) is a bi-lingual progressive digital media platform aiming to inform and educate Pakistanis at home and abroad. Subscribe to our YouTube channel here Follow us on Facebook   Twitter and Instagram Visit our Urdu website