Type to search


PTI Nominee Sadiq Sanjrani Elected Senate Chairman

Senator Sadiq Sanjrani has won the Senate chairman election for a second time after beating opposition’s candidate Yousaf Raza Gilani. Sanjrani was nominated by the ruling PTI as its candidate for the election of Senate chief.

Eight votes were rejected, seven of which were cast in favour of opposition candidate Yousaf Raza Gilani.

The opposition challenged the rejection of the seven votes. Both sides gave their opinion while addressing the presiding officer. The objection raised by the opposition was not sustained by the presiding officer who said that Sadiq Sanjrani was elected as the chairman.

Sanjrani took oath as the Senate chief amid sloganeering from opposition benches.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Naya Daur