Type to search


Suspended: These Parliamentarians Failed To File Asset Details With ECP

Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has said that it has suspended the membership of 154 members of the Senate, National and Provincial Assemblies for failure to file asset and liability statements with the commission.

The list of MNA’s whose membership has been suspended include the Minister for Inter-provincial Coordination (IPC) Fehmida Mirza, Minister for Science and Technology Fawad Chaudhry, Minister for Maritime Affairs Ali Haider Zaidi and Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui among many others.

Under the Election Act it is mandatory that all lawmakers have to submit the full list of their assets and liabilities inclduing both their and their children’s wealth to the ECP by December 31st each year. If the lawmakers fail to abide by this rule, their membership is revoked. Last year too, a number of 300 lawmakers were suspended for not abiding by the rules and the deadline.

PTI leader Ali Haidrr Zaidi took to Twitter after his membership’s suspension and said that although a bit late he had presented a report on his assets and liabilities on January 5th. He says he doesn’t sees what the fuss is about and why he has been suspended.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *