Type to search

News Politics

MNA Mohsin Dawar Files Petition Against Formation Of NFC

Pashtun Tahaffuz Movement (PTM) leader and North Waziristan lawmaker Mohsin Dawar has moved the Peshawar High Court against the formation of the National Finance Commission.

In a tweet, MNA Dawar said the constitution of the 10th NFC Award was ‘unconstitutional & aims to undo the gains in national cohesion achieved through the 18th Amendment’.

According to Dawar, former senators Farhatullah Babar, Bushra Gohar, and Afrasiab Khattak were also parties to the petition.

It may be noted here that the Islamabad High Court, Balochistan High Court, and the Sindh High Court have already been moved against the NFC Award.

Last month, the BHC set aside the notification issued by President Dr Arif Alvi for the constitution of the 10th NFC, ruling that the appointment of NFC members was unconstitutional.

The court, while issuing orders for implementation of Article 160 for the appointment and procedure of members of NFC Awards, had remarked that the Balochistan governor should appoint a new member from the province on the recommendation of Chief Minister Jam Kamal and provincial government.

The NFC is meant to distribute financial resources among the federal government and the provinces. It includes distribution of taxes collected by the federal government which forms a divisible pool. According to Article 160 of the Constitution, the president constitutes the NFC every five years for a period of five years.

After developing consensus between all the stakeholders on a particular formula to distribute the finances, the award is implemented for the next five years.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *