Type to search


PTI Fails To Impress In Tribal District Polls, Independents Grabbed Most Votes

Image Courtesy: SAMAA

Peshawar: The first-ever general elections took place in districts of erstwhile FATA, now merged into Khyber Pakhtunkhwa for the provincial assembly. As per the latest results, the incumbent Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) could not perform better as they were able to win 5 out of the 16 general seats in the polls.

Although the competition was between the ruling PTI and the independent candidates, the latter outperformed Imran Khan`s candidates. It is pertained to mention here that PTI was able to win 6 out of the 12 seats for the National Assembly back in 2018.

Friday`s election may be one of the poorer election runs for the party where they were not able to secure a single seat in Khyber, Mohmand, and Orakzai. According to Dawn, Insiders blamed the four-member parliamentary board for the “bad” performance of the party in elections. The board consisted of Governor Shah Farman, Chief Minister Mahmood Khan, Federal Minister for Religious Affair Allama Noorul Haq Qadri and PTI central general secretary Arshed Dad.

Dawn quotes another senior party leader citing internal rifts, “Our vote bank was divided because multiple candidates either contested polls against the party’s nominees or supported rivals.”

Despite the party`s poor performance, provincial minister for information Shaukat Yousufzai expressed his satisfaction over the results. “We (PTI) were expecting to win at least 11 seats, but wrong decisions in the allotment of tickets restricted us to five seats.” As the minister admits to ‘wrong decisions’ in allotment of tickets, many disgruntled PTI leaders and workers were of the view that the said parliamentary board either gave tickets to newcomers or preferred relatives of incumbent position holders.


Independents, on the other hand, were able to outperform PMLN-PPP stalwarts along with doing some damage to the incumbent PTI. According to results published by SAMAA, Independents grabbed the highest number of seats: six out of 16. The PTI won five, Jamiat-Ulema Islam (JUI-F) three and Jamat Islami (JI) and Awami National Party (ANP) won one each.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *