Type to search


Economist Who Resigned Over Atif Mian’s Removal Bags Prestigious European Award

Top Pakistani economist Imran Rasul was awarded the prestigious Yrjö Jahnsson Award in Economics 2019 earlier this week.

The award aims to recognise “European economist no older than 45 years old who has made a contribution in theoretical and applied research that is significant to economics in Europe.” He also received a cash prize of €20,000 in addition to the award.

Italian economist Oriana Bandiera also received the award.

Rasul took to Twitter and thanked everyone for the messages of support and recognition.

“Thanks to all for the many kind words for me and Oriana Bandiera. I am lucky to have an incredible set of colleagues and students at University College London and the Institute of Fiscal Studies (IFS) that make it all possible,” he said.

He also announced that himself and Bandiera will be visiting University of San Carlos to interact with students. “Although Oriana and I have very different preferences about work aspects we like/dislike, we both love working with students and being inspired by them,” Rasul said.

Imran Rasul Stepped Down From EAC After Atif Mian Was Removed

Rasul, who was an integral part of the Economic Advisory Council (EAC) stepped down after fellow economist Atif R Mian was removed due to his faith.

Right after the announcement of the appointment of Princeton economist Atif Mian to the Economic Advisory Council of Imran Khan’s newly constituted government, religious parties and members of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) protested for removal of Mian due to his Ahmaddiya faith.

The PTI government crushed under pressure and asked Atif Mian to step down.

Owing to this, Rasul also resigned from EAC saying that ‘this goes against my principles’. “The circumstances in which Atif was asked to step down are ones I profoundly disagree with. Basing decisions on religious affiliation goes against my principles.”


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *